Executive of the Year Award

Charles Dadswell, Senior Vice President and General Counsel, Illumina

IPO Education Foundation presents the first Executive of the Year award to Charles Dadswell for his commitment to the creation, promotion and protection of intellectual property. Mr. Dadswell is Senior Vice President and General Counsel of Illumina. Illumina has become a global leader in genomics and has impacted the industry making advancements in genetic solutions more accessible. Illumina owns or has exclusive licenses to more than 250 patents granted in the U.S., and many additional patents granted worldwide. Intellectual property protection is key to their organization for safeguarding investments in research and development and the resulting technological breakthroughs.

In addition to Mr. Dadswell’s role leading legal and IP matters at Illumina, he is also Illumina’s Chief Compliance Officer, President of the Illumina Corporate Foundation, as well as a member of the Executive Committee and Board of Directors of Biocom. Before joining Illumina, Mr. Dadswell was Vice President, General Counsel for North and Latin America and Corporate Director of Global Intellectual Property at bioMerieux. He was previously General Counsel of BioDelivery Sciences International, a specialty pharmaceutical company, and oversaw US intellectual property in a variety of positions with Glaxo, GlaxoWellcome and GlaxoSmithKline.

Mr. Dadswell received an LL.M. in patent law and trade regulation from The George Washington University Law School, a J.D. from Thomas M. Cooley Law School and a B.S. in Pharmacy from Ferris State University.